Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Newman Grove

Junior/Senior High School


Ajax Loading Image


Newman Grove Graduation 2018

 Story image 1_0

Saturday May 12, 2018 marked the 120th Commencement Ceremony of Newman Grove Public Schools.  Fifteen young women and men made up the graduating class of 2018.  The total number of students who have graduated from Newman Grove has now reached 3,581.


The students were led in procession by the Junior Class Honor Escorts Sarah Johnson and Tyson Haddix.  "Pomp and Circumstance", the traditional graduation processional, was played by Mrs. Tami Texley, music instructor at Newman Grove.  The class colors were blue and white, the class flower the sunflower, and the class motto "Follow your dreams but always know the road that leads you home!” by Tim McGraw.


Superintendent Mikal Shalikow provided a welcome address. Abbie Pieke, the class President, provided a comical summation of each of her classmates and a review of their class history. Caden Ranslem gave the Salutatorian address. He thanked each of the staff members, parents, and classmates for all they have done for them and how it made them who they are.


Mr. Matt Rudloff, the school's Guidance Counselor, presented scholarship awards, and recognized individual students for their achievements.  Students who maintained an "A" average throughout high school were Evelyn Estrada-Gonzalez, Cody Nelson, Payton Nelson and Caden Ranslem.   National Honor Society Members were Dylan Bagley, Evelyn Estrada-Gonzalez, Levi Krueger, Cody Nelson, Payton Nelson, Caden Ranslem and Rebecca Stone. The Valedictorian of the class Evelyn Estrada-Gonzalez and the Salutatorian, Caden Ranslem were given awards. A total of 83 scholarships, with a value of $191,696 were presented to 14 students. 


Evelyn Estrada-Gonzalez gave the Valedictorian address. She explained how she would like her classmates to ask themselves five questions and how those questions can help them be smart, kind, and hard working individuals.


The Senior slide show was presented.  This year’s show was prepared by Abbie Pieke and Rebecca Stone.  The members of the class then made special presentations of flowers while the song "Five More Minutes" by Scotty McCreery  was played.


Principal Darrell Barnes then presented the class to the President of the Board of Education, Mr. John Krueger.  After the students received their diplomas, they recessed from the gym to music by Green Day - "Good Riddance”.